Skip to main content

Trustees honored during School Board Recognition Month

Posted Date: 01/06/2023

Trustees honored during School Board Recognition Month

 January is School Board Recognition Month, and Livingston Independent School District is celebrating its trustees for their dedication and commitment to the district and its students. 

   The theme of this year’s School Board Recognition Month is Forward, Together, which highlights the collaboration among school leadership, teachers, and parents on behalf of students. 

   “Recognizing the efforts of our volunteer school board is so important because of all the hard work trustees put into making our district a success,” LISD Superintendent Dr. Brent Hawkins said.   

   The Livingston Independent School District board is responsible for an annual budget of $40,067,136 million, 4,021 students, 656 employees, and 7 campuses.

   Dan Troxell, executive director of the Texas Association of School Boards, applauded the efforts of trustees in providing leadership and good governance so that school districts can focus on educating the 5.4 million public schoolchildren in their care. 

   “Texas school boards are critical to the success of students and the future of Texas,” Troxell said. “Boards lead their districts in the right direction, providing oversight, setting goals, overseeing the budget, and selecting and evaluating the superintendent. These volunteers serve for the betterment of their local schools and communities.”

   Superintendent Hawkins shares, “Under the leadership of the board, LISD has successfully implemented $1 million of safety and security improvements over the last year.  A federal grant was responsible for funding $600,000 of these upgraded security camera improvements. They lowered the tax rate for the seventh year in a row and added $4,188,143 to the Teacher Salary Schedule since 2014.  The continued focus on teacher salaries helps to improve the retention of employees.

   Board members serving LISD are Board President Bea Ellis, Vice President John Allen Slocomb, Secretary Kevin Wooten, Trustee Scott Paske, Trustee Andrew Boyce, Trustee Kevin Grimm, and Trustee Mandi Pipes.

   Learn more about school board service at